Promoting excellence in agriculture for future generations.

2019 Murray Thomas Miles Jr. Memorial Scholarship Winner:

Jacob Tipton of Lascassas, TN

Jacob is the son of Bill and Vanessa Tipton. He is a 2018 graduate of Oakland High School. He is an agribusiness/education major at MTSU, where he plans to become a high school ag teacher and FFA advisor. In high school, he was involved in both 4-H and FFA. Today he is still active in the livestock industry, raising commercial grade black angus cattle; Jacob also remains active in FFA, ABGA, JABGA, Block & Bridle Club, Young Farmers and Ranchers, and Cattleman’s Association. Jacob’s main passion is registered boer goats and working in the show ring. This past year Jacob served as a JABGA Junior National Director.

2019 Rutherford Co Farm Bureau Scholarship Winners:

Jessica Courtney Hickerson of Murfreesboro, TN

Jessica is the daughter of Kyle and Merry Hickerson. She is a 2017 graduate of Stewarts Creek High School. Jessica currently attends MTSU pursuing a degree in animal science with an agriculture education minor. Her plans are to become either a high school or middle school agriculture teacher and FFA advisor. She is passionate about advocating for agriculture and teaching people where food and fiber comes from.

Mia E. Kuhnle of Lascassas, TN

Mia is the daughter of Craig and Michelle Kuhnle. She is a 2019 graduate of Oakland High School, where she was involved in FFA. She was the FFA Agriscience Fair Division VI winner: State Degree recipient, Greenhand Degree, Chapter Degree and 2018-2019 Chapter Vice President. Mia plans to attend MTSU, where she will continue her education in agriscience.